Christa’s MPUK Experience | Part 2

The Night

This was it. All the hard work counts down to one night. The pressure was kicking in. I remember not getting enough sleep with all the anxiety I was feeling the night before. My mum and my sister kept insisting that all I needed to do was to ‘enjoy’ the moment but it was impossible! I knew I had all these expectations to live up to and I didn’t want to disappoint. I kept reminding myself: ‘Eyes on the prize, you always wanted to be a great role model? This is your chance’. Luckily my very close friend, Tosca Cabatana, was there to support me backstage. She gave me pep talks, helped me out with my hair and coordinated my outfits. She even brought a box of Lola’s cupcakes, which cheered me up instantly.

I was a complete nervous wreck at the dressing room. I was anxious that I might trip, say the wrong words or embarrass myself. But surprisingly, as soon as I got on stage, another persona takes over – a cool, calm and collected Christa. Of course my confidence also came from the loud cheering of my friends and family. Pictures of myself and banners were being waved around. Loud screams of: ‘We love you Christa!’ or ‘Namber Pibe!’ whilst I strut along the stage made me feel so reassured and blessed. Knowing that I had that much support, it was impossible not to smile naturally.

More Than a Beauty Pageant

The experience has taught me more than just holding a smile on stage, walking on heels, fixing my hair & make-up. Through the pageant, I also had the pleasure of meeting a lot of talented individuals. From the singers & dancers; the event organisers; alumni beauty queens and of course the gorgeous/handsome candidates. Furthermore, having spent countless hours of learning the dance routine; I re-discovered my passion for dancing again.

This journey has also been an eye-opening experience. For me, it is a once in a lifetime opportunity to make a positive difference. It helped me discover so many things about myself that I didn’t even knew existed. I learned to be more disciplined and ambitious towards my goals. I realised my self-value and purpose. I learned the importance of taking risks and being able to demonstrate confidence despite of what others may say. I learned that reaching your dreams are always possible especially when you’ve got great support from your family and friends.

Crowning

Leave a comment