Masarap Bank Holiday Brunch

Masarap is a group of friends who want to raise awareness of Filipino cuisine. Their food is modern Filipino fusion, so they take inspiration from their favourite childhood Filipino foods and then have their our own special twist on traditional recipes, and it is delicious!

At the end of May they had a pop up brunch at Old Street. The main included: Tocilog Taco – tortilla with sweet marinated pork, cabbage slaw, lettuce and topped with a fried egg; a mini Kare Kare Burger Slider – slow cooked beef brisket boiled until soft then cooked in a peanut, garlic and onion sauce with cabbage slaw, and pickled papaya; Sisig Fries – fries with pork shoulder marinated in lemon with nacho cheese, pico de gallo and gaucamole. For the desert, we had ube leche flan cake with macapuno buttercream, at first I was not too sure how the ube and the leche flan would taste together but it was really good! Two of my favourite deserts in one. My favourite food from the brunch were the fries, I thought they were a really interesting twist on a classic. Even though they do not have any upcoming events, I will definitely keep my eye out and book my seat for their next one!

Grub Club
Twitter
Facebook

3 thoughts on “Masarap Bank Holiday Brunch

Leave a comment